Internal Theme Song Du Jour!

21 Aug

I’ve started picking an internal theme song for the day.  I often feel like I am in the movie or music video of my life anyway, and have songs running through my mind or through my headphones throughout the day, so this is a fun little way to make it official.

Last week, my first Internal Theme Song of the Day was “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey.  On Wednesday it was “Break My Stride” by Matthew Wilder and I highly recommend watching this video if you, like me, desperately longed to be a Solid Gold Dancer at any time in your life.  Or if you still long for this…  That night, I walking home from the subway singing “Break My Stride” out loud (sometimes my internal theme songs leak out externally), when a car drove by BLASTING “Don’t Stop Believing,” and I felt like the stars were somehow aligned and all was well in the Universe. 

Yesterday’s song was “Right to Be Wrong” by Joss Stone.  I especially like these lyrics:  “I’ve got a right to be wrong, my mistakes will make me strong.  I’m stepping out into the great unknown, I’m feeling wings though I’ve never flown…Got a right to be wrong, I’ve been held down too long, I got to break free, so I can finally breathe.  Got a right to be wrong, gotta sing my own song, I might be singing out of key, but it sure feels good to me.”  Sing it, Girl!  I like it in part because I’m working on my wings…

Today I started out my day having a POWER breakfast with some POWER ladies, a group of fabulous, inspiring, supportive creative friends, which gave me such a BOOST right at the start of my day, and made today’s theme song choice obvious:  “I’ve Got the Power” by Snap.  Which reminds of when my sister was on a mission to bring back “Oh, Snap!” (It never took off as a revival.)  And also brings back vague memories of wearing a wool sweater, short pleated skirt, and green lollipops and dancing to this song for dance team or cheerleading in high school.  Or maybe it was just playing in the background when I was standing around a keg holding a red plastic Dixie cup post-game.  Ahh, the early 90’s….

And this leads me to Part Two of the Internal Theme Song Du Jour – The Dance Break.  By no means is this required, but if you can take a 5 minute dance break to your internal theme song that’s the bonus track!  You can do this walking down the street or on the subway, in your chair at work, or, if all else fails, in your mind.  Or, one of the most fun ways to do it is to blast the video on YouTube in your co-worker’s office and have a GROUP dance party (I’ve done this and it’s a great way to get a boost during a slump without sugar or caffeine!).

Also important to note is that this is a low pressure thing, so no need to come up with a new song every day if you don’t feel like it.  You can stick with your Internal Theme Song Du Jour for a day, a week, a month, a year, whatever!  It’s YOUR LIFE so create YOUR OWN PLAYLIST!  You can play your song in your head on your commute, while you are doing errands or mundane tasks, or while you are someplace you don’t want to be – it’s like affirmations, but set to music!  Try it, it’s fun!  And it will launch you into the starring role in the MUSIC VIDEO OF YOUR LIFE!!!

What’s your song today?

TURN IT UP & ROCK IT OUT!!!

3 Responses to “Internal Theme Song Du Jour!”

  1. Jennifer Garam August 22, 2009 at 10:46 am #

    P.S. “Don’t Stop Believing” was playing in Starbucks this morning, and they NEVER play 80’s power ballads, usually music more along the lines Norah Jones or Amos Lee. That’s the second time I’ve randomly heard “Don’t Stop Believing” this week, and it is now officially the official theme song of my life. I think the Universe is trying to tell me something…

  2. Teleskopik Recordings August 27, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    Ahhh! the old song du jour – can’t beat it!

  3. Grazie August 27, 2009 at 7:18 am #

    The Raymond Scott Quinette is usually at the back of my head during the day with “Powerhouse” (which Bugs Bunny fans will recognize)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEuwAh3LFvM
    Words would only distract from the barely organized frenzied chaos of the day’s rhythms. With that in my head, I can outpace the rabbit, grab the carrot and bust through brick walls. (Evenings at home dissolve into downtempo lounge, or what what my dear succinctly refers to as “drizzlepop.”)

Leave a Reply

