I Wrote Love Letters to Corey Haim in 1987

15 Mar

Corey Haim in “Lucas”

When I was in 6th grade, I saw the movie “Lucas” and fell in love with Corey Haim. One of my best friends, Gillian, loved Corey Feldman.  I remember that year, wearing two different color GAP t-shirts layered, with the sleeves rolled up so both colors showed, and two different color pairs of GAP socks also layered and color-coordinated with the t-shirts, hanging out at Gillian’s house, quoting “Lucas” and “The Lost Boys.”  We’d walk to the Paper Shoppe in town after school and before jazz dance class at the VFW, and buy Pop Rocks or Candy Dots or Big League Chew chewing gum and most importantly, issues of BOP magazine so we could read about the Coreys.

On the back of my bedroom door, I had a taped-up collage of pictures ripped out from BOP, of Corey Haim who I wanted to date, and Alyssa Milano who I wanted to be. And also a few of Kirk Cameron, my back-up boyfriend. We read that the Coreys and Alyssa hung out at a place called Alfie’s Soda Pop Club where they served New York Seltzer, so we’d buy Raspberry or Black Cherry or Vanilla Cream New York Seltzer after school at Amjo’s Deli, and eat Hostess Choco-Bliss-es and sip our sodas while walking home on a spring afternoon.

Another one of my friends wrote a fan letter to Alyssa Milano and got a glossy autographed headshot back in the mail, and that gave me the inspiration to write to Corey Haim. So I wrote him letters, at least 12 of them. I poured my heart out, and wrote about being upset that my parents were divorced, and how it was hard for me that my Mom was dating, and about how alone I felt, and like no one understood me. Sitting in my bedroom, I wrote long letters on pages and pages of blue stationery with matching envelopes, and I sat in front of the TV in the family room sealing them, addressing them, and licking stamps.

I never got a letter or a glossy autographed headshot back in the mail, but that was OK. Because at 11-years-old, while I was writing to Corey Haim, I felt like he would understand me, and like I was less alone. And so although he never knew it, he helped me get through some painful middle school times, by giving me a reason to put my BIC ballpoint pen to sheets of blue paper, and write out my thoughts and feelings.

2 Responses to “I Wrote Love Letters to Corey Haim in 1987”

  1. Andrea May 31, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    I wrote a letter to Don Johnson when I was 6 years old, during the height of Miami Vice fame. I still have the autograph, in the orginal envelope, that I got back after my letter got passed on to one of his bodyguards (yes, I was a 6 y.o. with connections!)

  2. robin May 18, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    Oh my gosh…Are you me?? lol
    Seriously, I relate to everything in your post. I too was in 6th grade when I was buying Bop, Tiger Beat, 16, etc. I loved the Coreys and Alyssa Milano and DESPERATELY wanted to go to L.A. to hang out at Alfie’s Soda Pop Club, which I read about in “16 Magazine” I think. And I had my dad buy me New York Seltzer to drink at lunch. Oh my gosh, such funny times. Seems like a world away now, and yet at the same time it feels like just yesterday. The world has changed so much since then in terms of pop culture and electronics…but at the same time it really doesn’t seem like all that long ago.

    Geez, who else was in those magazines: Chad Allen, Kirk Cameron, Fred Savage, Brian Bloom (aka pretty blue eyes), Stacy Keenan, Wil Wheaton, River Pheonix, Sean Astin, Menudo, Jon Stamos, Jason Bateman, Jeremy Licht…Such fun memories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

